Only 10 minutes away from our house by foot, it is a unique construction that sees the local highway passing under the little canal which joins Carentan harbour to the river and to the sea. Opened in 1994, it’s 615 meters long for 10 meters high, at its highest point.
Its history goes back to Antiquity. At first, a fortress that defended the entrance to the Cotentin marshes in Middle-Ages. The access to the city was possible through the west door coming from Saint-Come and by the east door, coming from Saint-Hilaire. The castle was situated on the actual Place du Valnoble. In 1346, Edward III of England seized the town and ordered the destruction of its fortifications.